Wife and Mother

Mother’s Day is looming. Lurking around the corner just waiting to dawn, lighting upon the happy hearts of mother’s everywhere. I thank the good Lord in heaven that there is no “Wife’s Day”. I guess some would say that’s Valentine’s Day … and I’m blessed that that Hallmark Holiday wasn’t a thing for Don and I [the man really did hit the jackpot with me, and he knew it.]

So, mother’s day and a five minute writing prompt word [you guessed it!]

Welcome to another round of Five Minute Friday!

To learn more about FMF, click here

This week’s Five Minute Friday prompt is: Mom

Five minutes on the timer … Go.

So, as you know I’ve had tremendous loss these last 2 years and 1 month. Oh my, will the counting of time ever end!

I am numb. Deeply sorrowful. And at a loss for Mother’s Day.

My mind goes to the towheaded blonde locks of the sweetest boy you’d ever know. My mother’s heart constricts making my heart physically ache.

Shane toddler

How can I be honored on this day to honor mothers?

“Honor your father and mother”—which is the first commandment with a promise— “so that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.” Ephesians 6:2,3

I feel as though I failed miserably. My boy is gone and I couldn’t do a thing about it.

Shane Dare

I am blessed though to have 3 other children and grandchildren but on a weekend like this, a day as precious as mother’s day, My spirit is heavy with what is gone. With who is gone.

Oh and just to get my mind off of what my heart is saying, this is the first Mother’s Day after my boy has passed. There’s the counting again …..

STOP

I want to reach out to those mother’s who have suffered the single most worst loss a human being can bear. And bear it we do.

On our hearts.

On out minds.

On our sleeves for all to see.

Sweet mother, you are still a mother.  You are still the best mom your sweet child could have had. I know this because I believe God gives us the children [on loan] that we can best parent. Giving that child everything they could possibly need and desire [though in moderation with the desires] to do what they came from heaven to do.

You are still a Mother and still to be honored. Know that you are definitely not alone. I know that holidays like Mother’s Day tend to bring us sorrow and the agony of newly opened grief. I know that this is a pjs and head under the blanket day. But I encourage you today.

Dare to honor your motherhood. Celebrate your other children. Celebrate with family and friends. Do something good for you, a treat.

Then the mother of the child said, “As the Lord lives and as you yourself live, I will not leave you.” – 2 Kings 4:30

We nurture and raise our children the best we can, placing them firmly on the path they should go, and then we pray. And our hearts say … as the Lord lives and as you, yourself live, I will not leave you. We don’t leave them even in their worst rebellions, we don’t leave. We pray.

Mother’s pray, it is the most important service a mother can give her child.

Today I pray for all mothers, but I raise up a little higher to our Heavenly Father the ones who have lost a child and are suffering an emptiness even as they smile and celebrate with their other beloved children. I ask, Lord that you blanket them with your peace. With a knowledge that their child is safely at home in your arms. Lord relieve the sorrow, dear heavenly Father we remember  and humbly thank You for the promise in your Word to be close to the brokenhearted and save those who are crushed in spirit. I thank You Lord for caring for these beloved children, even as I lack the understanding, not knowing how this could be a part of Your plan for our lives, but still we trust You, Lord. Moving forward, caring for our families and cradling in our hearts the memory of that literal piece of us that is gone. Comforted that they rest in You. Thank you Lord for Your faithfulness. I humbly pray in Jesus’ name, amen.

1Andrea

5 thoughts on “Wife and Mother

  1. “Sweet mother, you are still a mother. You are still the best mom your sweet child could have had. I know this because I believe God gives us the children [on loan] that we can best parent. ”
    Thank you for this beautiful sentiment. I am so sorry for your loss and I pray the Holy Spirit will send you an extra dose of comfort this Mother’s Day. I agree with you and I firmly believe that God intends our children for each of us, even when I doubt my ability to be their mother.

    Like

  2. Out of your grief, you breathe words of life to others. What a beautiful sacrifice of love for those who ache. May God fill your heart with himself and wrap you in his arms of perfect comfort.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

